Friday, March 1, 2013

Review: Byzantine Gold by Chris Karlsen

Title:  Byzantine Gold
Author:  Chris Karlsen
Genre:  Action Adventure, Mystery
Pages:  136
Published:  December 2012
Publisher:  Book To Go Now
Source:  Goddess Fish Book Tours
Buy Link:  Amazon

Synopsis:

The sequel novel to the best-selling, thriller, Golden Chariot.

A sunken warship from the Byzantine Era carrying an unusual cargo of gold has been found off the coast of Northern Cyprus. News of the valuable cache has attracted the attention of a terrorist cell. They plan to attack the recovery team’s campsite and steal the artifacts. On the Black Market, the sale of the relics will buy them additional weapons.

Charlotte Dashiell, an American archaeologist, and her lover, Atakan Vadim, a Turkish government agent, are scheduled to be part of the recovery team that brings up the artifacts. While en route to Cyprus, they find themselves caught in the crosshairs of Maksym Tischenko, a Ukrainian contract killer bent on revenge. Charlotte, Atakan and Tischenko share a grim history. As a result, Tischenko is a man who will stop at nothing to achieve his goal—seeing them both dead.

We meet up once again with archaeologist Charlotte and her boyfriend/lover Atakan; who we meet in “Golden Chariot”.  These two managed to get into all sorts of trouble in the first book and I wasn’t surprised at all that they have returned to cause more!

An attempt on Atakan’s life in Paris has Charlotte worried about their upcoming dig on Cyprus.  An old nemesis is following them and putting their lives at risk.  Determined to keep with the plan and schedule, Atakan reassures Charlotte that they will be safe at the dig with old friends and lots of security.

We have several stories intertwined in this book, all leading to the dig and our two main characters – who manage to get wrapped up in all sorts of trouble; once again!  I don’t want to give away much detail, as even the smallest thing in these types of books could ruin the story for someone!  Be prepared for action, adventure, mystery, treasures, bad guys, and of course a touch of romance!

Would I recommend this book?  Yes!  Although I would make sure to have read “Golden Chariot” before digging into this one to get some background on the characters and what happens with Tischenko.  This is a great book for readers who enjoy authors like Clive Cussler, Dan Brown, Andy McDermott and more.  Would I read more by this author?  Most definitely.

6 comments:

  1. What an exciting series. It sounds as good as a Ludlum book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi MomJane,
      Thank you. What a terrific comparison.
      Chris

      Delete
  2. Good morning,
    I want to thank Aislynn for taking the time to read and review Byzantine Gold. And a big thank you for the lovely review.
    Chris Karlsen

    ReplyDelete
  3. How great to be compared to Clive Cussler and Dan Brown! What excellent writing company.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hi Catherine,
      I know. How flattering. I'm thrilled to the comparison.
      Chris

      Delete

This blog is an award free zone. The gesture is appreciated, but you stopping by is reward enough!

I love comments! I will try to respond to as many as I can.

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.